Department of Energy Science

The Department of Energy Science focuses on the emerging challenges facing the environment and energy sectors. Researchers develop new materials for energy production and storage by eco-friendly approaches. Additionally the Department develops core competency in solar energy, alternative fuels, and carbon mitigation.

The Department works closely in collaboration with various reputed International and National Institutes/Universities for many exciting and unique projects. The Department has also strong commitment towards teaching programmes at the postgraduate level (M.Sc.) and research programmes at doctoral level. The coursework and research in the Department are designed to bring the student into contact with activity in several disciplines related to energy, such as engineering, materials science, nanotechnology, chemistry, physics and microbiology.

The program of graduate training is designed to prepare graduates for professional leadership careers either in the emerging energy industry or academia. Students may join the Department with the intention of obtaining either M.Sc or a Ph.D or both degrees.

S.No Photo Name Designation Profile
1 Dr. S. Karuppuchamy Professor and Head
Programmes Offered
S.No Course Specialization Mode of Study Duration(Years)
1 M.Sc.(Energy Science) General Full-time Two
2 Ph.D.(Energy Science) General Full-time & Part Time Minimum of 2 years with M.Phil and 3 years with M.Sc.,

The following Post-Graduate courses are offered in the University Departments.

Name of the Department Name of the Course(s) Offered Eligibility
Energy Science M.Sc .(Energy Science) Eligibility: Bachelor's Degree in Chemistry, Physics, Biology, Applied Physics, Electronics, Nuclear Physics, Biophysics, Industrial chemistry, Polymer Chemistry, Applied Chemistry, Biotechnology, Biochemistry and, Biological sciences (Botany, Zoology, Biochemistry, Microbiology) or equivalent Degree with at least 55% of marks in Part III.
Ph.D .(Energy Science) Eligibility: Postgraduate degree in all branches of Chemistry/Physics/Energy Science/Nanoscience and Nanotechnology/Biosensors and Bioelectronics/Life sciences. 
Admission: CSIR/ qualified candidates will be given preference. However in exceptional cases, candidates without NET may be considered upon satisfactory performance in written test / interview conducted at the department. 
    Sl. No. Name of the Programmes Action
    1 M.Sc., Energy Science
Fee Structure
M.Sc. Energy science
Programme Tuition fee including Guest Lecture fee RS. Computer LAB FEE RS. SPL FEE RS. Other fee RS. Special Lecture & Industrial visit\ Camp Rs. First year Total fee RS. Second year  Total fee RS.
M.Sc. Energy science 1000 500 2000 1000 --- 4500 3500

Department of Energy Science has sophisticated lab facilities for teaching and research programmes. The class rooms are equipped with LCD projector and smart board to deliver effective presentations. The laboratory is equipped with necessary advanced scientific instruments for learning research in energy related areas.

Major areas of Research

Nanomaterials, Solar energy conversion and storage and Bioenergy

Instrumental Facilities
  • Electrospinning
  • Electrochemical Workstation
  • Photospectrometer
  • Calorimeter
  • PV Analyzer

The energy crisis all over the world in the seventies cautioned the mankind and imposed to think about the appropriate utilization of the energy resources on the earth for the sustainable growth. In history, the energy crisis had led to many innovations as well as research and development programs in all sectors related to the energy. The objective of our research work is to develop appropriate energy technology to mitigate the energy problem which is faced by the common and rural people. We are working in the following thrust area.

  • Dye-sensitized solar cells
  • Perovskite solar cells
  • Energy Storage Materials
  • Photocatalysis
  • Bioenergy
Memorandum of Understanding
  • Kinki University, Japan
  • SPD Laboratory, Japan
  • Polytechnic University of Aguascalientes, Mexico
  • Himadri Chemicals Co. Ltd., Kolkata
Research Collaboration
  • Kinki University, Japan
  • Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan
  • Gifu University, Japan
  • University Technology Mara, Malaysia
  • University Putra Malaysia, Malaysia
  • SPD Laboratory, Japan
  • Polytechnic University of Aguascalientes, Mexico
  • Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC), Mumbai
  • Himadri Chemicals Co. Ltd, Kolkata
Photos / Videos